Collective bargaining operates at three levels:
1. National level
2. Sector or industry level
3. Company/enterprise level

Economy-wide (national) bargaining

is a bipartite or tripartite form of negotiation between union confederations, central employer associations and government agencies. It aims at providing a floor for lower-level bargaining on the terms of employment, often taking into account macroeconomic goals.

Sectoral bargaining,

which aims at the standardization of the terms of employment in one industry, includes a range of bargaining patterns.
Bargaining may be either broadly or narrowly defined in terms of the industrial activities covered and may be either split up according to territorial sub units or conducted nationally.

The third bargaining level involves the company and/or establishment. As a supplementary type of bargaining, it emphasizes the point that bargaining levels need not be mutually exclusive.